Menu Close

Groningen Orgelstad

Stichting Groningen Orgelstad

The IMOCG is organised by the foundation ‘Stichting Groningen Orgelstad’.  The aim of the foundation is to preserve the historic organs in the city of Groningen and to promote them actively so that a large and diverse audience can become acquainted with the unique splendour in sound and architectural style of these instruments.

Stichting Groningen Orgelstad has the ANBI-status (similar to Public Benefit Organisation).


The Stichting Groningen Orgelstad has a clear organisational structure, has a separate Artistic Committee and a separate professional project leader for both the Schnitgerfestival and the International Martini Organ Competition Groningen, has an expert for PR and Marketing activities, and tests programme proposals against previously established criteria, which are related to the mission and the long-term artistic vision. Education is seen as an important instrument to create interest in the beauty of the organ among children.

In addition to coordinating the activities of the organ committees in the city of Groningen, the focus of its activities is the organisation of two major organ events alternating biennially: the Schnitgerfestival and the International Martini Organ Competition Groningen (IMOCG).

Mission of Stichting Groningen Orgelstad

Our mission is to passionately convey to as many people of all ages as possible our enthusiasm for the rich organ collection in the city of Groningen.


The aim of the Stichting Groningen Orgelstad is to:

  • promote a stimulating organ policy for all the organs in the city of Groningen, which together represent a rich heritage;
  • making the rich historic organ heritage of the city of Groningen heard, so that a wide audience can enjoy the sounds of these organs, many of which have been restored with public funds;
  • to do all that is connected with or conducive to the above.

Project organization IMOCG:

  • Bram van der Veen – project manager
  • Elsbeth Mulder – PR & communication

Artistic committee IMOCG

  • Lambert de Bont – chair
  • Leo van Doeselaar
  • Theo Jellema
  • Erwin Wiersinga